Mar 242015

The final race in the 2014/15 Central Athletic Club’s Cross-Country Series was held in Kings Park, Stirling on the morning of Saturday 21st March over an approximate 2 kilometre course with some fast running in the warm spring sunshine.

It was Under 15 Boy Keir Howlieson who again showed excellent form to take a fine win in 5min 16secs. Under 13 Ben MacMillan was competitive throughout to clock 5.23 ahead of a fast finishing Tom Graham Marr (5.29) while last year’s Under 11 Champion Callum Byrne (now Under 13) came home well in 5.47. Kyra Gibb (5.59) won the battle of the Under 13 Girls ahead of Ciorstaidh Ainsworth (6.01) while Daniel Bruce (6.04) and Cameron Fraser (6.08) led in determined efforts from Millie Stokoe (6.09), Ruby Simpson (6.10), Rosie Eckersley (6.11) and Amy Kirkpatrick (6.14).

Findlay Penderis (6.15) was another to underline his progress this year as he was followed into the line by a group containing first Under 11 Girl Katie Burr (6.16) plus Ben Hughes (6.16), Jessica Turnbull (6.23), first U11 Boy James Brown (6.24) and Katie Findlay (6.26). Robbie Subke (6.29) showed good form ahead of Euan Campbell (6.31), Cameron MacMillan (6.33), the first Under 9 Boy Ethan Sorley (6.39), Scott MacMurdie (6.42), first Under 9 Girl Melissa Turnbull (6.44), Amber McRoberts (6.47), Molly Cornes (6.33), Brogan Law (6.55) and Finlay Marchmant (6.57).

As always there was great endeavour throughout the field so it was good to see Calum Bowie (7.01) sprinting to the line ahead of Anna MacKinnon (7.02), Dugald MacKechnie (7.03), Ross Cameron (7.03), Rebecca Hogg (7.04) and Naomi Howlieson (7.04). The next group was headed home by Rebecca Organ (7.17) with Heather Hale (7.19), Fin Carr (7.21), Lily Simpson (7.21), Logan Gray (7.23), Carys Gibb (7.24) and Ceitidh Ainsworth (7.26) in close order. With many of the youngsters trying out cross country for the first time there was strong running from Cora Morgan (7.36), Finnlaidh Stokoe (7.40), Rosie Stewart (7.41), Lori Muirhead (7.41), Cameron Brown (7.43), Leya Gibb (7.45), Matilda Ross (8.13), Carla Subke (8.16), Logan Mailer (8.25), Hannah Ross (8.43) and Sophie Appelbe (8.45) while Millie Baxter closed in the field having suffered a fall during the race.

Congratulations to Series Winners Keir Howlieson, Callum Byrne, James Brown, Ruby Simpson, Jessica Turnbull and Mellisa Turnbull. Andrew Butchart took time out of his World Cross Country Championship preparations to present medals and trophies and thanks are also due for help from Andrew’s training companions and the small army of Club helpers and parents who ensured the success of the event.

© 2021 Central Athletic Club Webreturn