Aug 162016

Top Relay Club Again!

U17 Silver Medal

U17 Silver Medal

Central AC once again came out as top club in the National Sprint Relay Championships at Grangemouth. Central quartets won Gold in both under 13 and Under 15 Girls, Silver in Under 17 Ladies and Bronze in the under 17 Men.

The under 13 girls’ team of Mia Glen, Corilidh Cook, Katie Burr and Amy Kirkpatrick continued a run of three successive wins for the club but this year’s team took the extra plaudit of breaking the Scottish record with a great time of 53.33s. Qualifying second fastest in the heats, the team upped their game to take a second off their heat time as they came out top.

U13 and U15 Gold Medals

U13 and U15 Gold Medals

The under 15 girls’

U15 baton changeover

U15 baton changeover

team had a number of changes from the established quartet that had been running all season  in league matches, but all worked together seamlessly as the team went through the heats as fastest qualifier. In the final, the team of Lucy Davison, Katie Sharkey, Elizabeth Thompson and Abby Davison put in another class performance as the took the title with 51.21s.

For the Under 17 ladies, the team of Anna Cameron, Catriona Laing, Lucy Mason and Jessica Cleland took a conservative approach to qualify for the final as all had been performing in the under 17 individual championships running in tandem with the relay championships. They qualified as fifth fastest team, and then in the final pulled it all out as they took silver with 50.46s.

Matthew Chandler, Kieran Halliday, Matthew Meredith and Jack Houghton put


U17 Bronze Medalists

on a fine performance in the Under 17 Men’s final race. In a tussle for the medals, the Central quartet had to settle for bronze medals in a time of 47.21s.

The Central under 15 Boys’ team qualified for the final in a great race and then put in even faster time of 51.21 for a fifth place in the final through Jack Haughton, Daniel Ferguson, Daniel Bruce and Neil Casserley.

Planning for next year, a second Central under 13 girls team of  Bryony Smith,  Rebecca Chambers, Naomi Howlieson and Paige Stevens put in a fine showing in their heat but were disqualified for an illegal baton change.

© 2021 Central Athletic Club Webreturn