Feb 212017

Central Athletics Cross Country Championships were held on the normal testing course at Queen Victoria School, Dunblane on Saturday 18 February.  The course featured burn crossings, heavy ground and some taxing hills, in all a real cross country.

Trophy and Medalists

The Boys and Girls Under 11 Races were held together over a 1.25 mile, one lap course with all the children once again showing great enthusiasm and resolve.  Connor Bell underlined his excellent recent form to take the Boys trophy with a fine run of 6min 24secs with Cameron Darnbrough also showing good speed for Silver (6.51) and Aaron Middleton picking up Bronze (6.58).  There was an excellent race between Magnus Bryce (7.04), Sam Vannet (7.05), Innes Brown (7.07) and Tom Campbell (7.08), as the four boys crossed the line close together.  There were further strong runs from Benjamin Harley (7.20), Finlay Fleming (7.23), Alex Dunlop (7.24), Marcus Sinclair (7.25) and Ross McGann while Henry Crossley (7.43), Ethan Moore (7.46), Kieran Mooney (7.48), Oliver Ditchfield (7.59), Andrew Twigg (8.15), Caomh Curtin (8.20), Cameron Pollock (8.55) and Harris Anderson (9.05) all posted impressive times.  The Under 11 Girls Race saw Melissa Turnbull’s impressive 6min 45sec run lift the title and here she was followed by guest runner Caitlin Christie (7.08).  Carys Gibb’s 7.27 run was awarded with Silver ahead of Leah Stenhouse’s Bronze (7.47).  Leah Gibb (7.49) and Alana Kerr (7.50) were in contention throughout heading in Eleanor Jones (8.13), Loren Stewart (8.52) and Zoe Loughray (8.58).  Erin Partridge ran well to record 9.08 ahead of Mara Gillan (9.14), Hana Littlejohn (9.20), and another close race between Marissa Welsh (9.37), Mia Proctor (9.39), Sophie Appelbe (9.40), Connie Bateman (9.42), Olivia Ashworth (9.45), Ciara Middleton (9.50) and Alice Cameron (10.12).


The Under 13 race was held over a 1.75 mile course and here it was Finlay Muir

U13 Start Line

who continued his strong recent form to win the Boys race with 9min 37secs.  Cameron Kerr (9.59) proved a worthy winner of the Silver medal as was Euan Campbell of the Bronze (10.20).  Cameron MacMillan (10.27), Callum Scott (10.43) and Jack Campbell (11.06) all showed good form to come through well just ahead of Ardan Proctor (11.16), Finlay Brown (11.21), Ruairidh Burns (11.23), Matthew Cameron (11.30) and Rory Duffy (11.41).    Elisse Graham-Marr had another top-class run to win the Under 13 Girls Race (10.48) ahead of Jessica Turnbull’s Silver run of 11.07 and Grace Tindall’s Bronze effort of 11.13.  Summer MacLean had another consistent run of 11.37 to finish just ahead of Finnlaidh Stokoe (11.38) and Amy Cully (11.56), Caitidh Ainsworth (12.07), Anna MacKinnon (12.08) and Anna Buchanan (12.16) all showing promise. There were more good runs from Naomi Howlieson (12.34), Rebecca Watson (12.43), Lucy Yates (12.44), Heather Riach (12.55), Ellen Mntgomery (13.08), Megan Dunlop (13.13) and the race topped off with a dramatic finish from Ellie Ross and Harriet Ditchfiekd with both girls recording 13.25.


The third race, over a two lap course of 2.5miles, saw the Under 15 Boys and Girls run with the Under 20 Women. Ben MacMillan led from the start completing the course in a speedy 11min 46secs to win the Under 15 Boys Trophy ahead of Gregor McArthur (12.52) in Silver and Thomas Woods (13.04) for Bronze..  Daniel Bruce (13.44) and Cameron Fraser (15.00) both came through the race in fine form.  The Girls race saw Kyra Gibb (14.22) striding through for a fine victory ahead of medalists Millie Stokoe (15.54) and Rhona Samphier (16.10), while Rebecca Hogg showed great determination to finish the course in 17min 30secs. Eleanor Hanson was the sole Under 20 Woman and here she showed her normal can-do attitude to finish in an excellent 14min 20secs. 


The Under 17 Men ran with the Under 20 Men, Senior Men and Veterans Men over 4 miles with quality runs throughout.  Craig Palmer swept to victory in the Under17 Mens race to record 20.51 ahead of  further good urns from Keir Howlieson (21.23),

U17 – Keir Howlieson chasing Tom Graham Marr

Sandy Holl (21.45) and Tom Graham-Marr (23.26).  Aiden Cameron’s gutsy effort of 25.30 saw him lift the Under 20 Mens Gold medal and trophy while it was Gordon Appelbe (27.27) who won the Senior Race.  Andy Turnbull (23.25) proved to be the fastest Veteran Man on show ahead of fine efforts from Charles Graham-Marr (24.08) Kenny Pearson (26.44) and Alan Gall (29.11).


Donald Shaw once again put on a fine event for the Club ably backed up by Jane McNab on refreshments and a large group of Club helpers.

© 2021 Central Athletic Club Webreturn