Nov 192018
Trophy winners

Photography by – 01786 474340

Over 150 of Central AC’s athletes along with their families and friends celebrated the success of the club this season at their annual End of Season Celebration at the Stirling Court Hotel on Friday night. The club’s home grown Olympian, Andy Butchart, was on hand to present the awards to the club’s athletes. During the event Andy gave an interview where he inspired the younger athletes in the club as he described how he started at Central AC as a teenager and rose up the ranks all the way to the Olympics. He also told them how leading the race at the Olympics is just like leading any other race, and how he is hoping to win a medal at the upcoming European Indoor Championships in Glasgow next March. The event finished off with a ceilidh as the athletes let their hair down to the music of local band Skelpit Lug. A great evening was had by all. Athletes will now turn their attention to the new season with the cross country season already underway and the indoor track and field season kicking off in December.

Prize winners

Photography by Whyler Photos of Stirling

The winners of the perpetual trophies for 2018 were as follows:

  • Joe Allan Trophy for best performance by an Under-13 at the club championships:
    Girls – Emily Guest, Boys – Robb Ferguson
  • Bob Crawford Memorial Trophy for best javelin performance over the season:
    Female – Rebecca Cumming, Male – Scott Hopper
  • Best performance by a senior boy thrower at club championships:
    Andrew McLay
  • Jimmy Millar Trophy for horizontal jumps:
    Female – Louise Carroll, Male – Matt Chandler
  • Best performance by any athlete at the club championships:
    Jack Haughton
  • Fraser Shield for most improved athlete:
    Female – Elizabeth Thompson, Male – Tom Chandler
  • Robert Shephard Trophy for outstanding contribution by a female athlete to club performance:
    Emma Mailer
  • Isobel Robertson Trophy for outstanding contribution to the youth development league:
    Boys – Ewan Wilbert, Girls – Coirilidh Cook
  • Ralph Erskine Trophy for contribution to team performance in cross country:
    Female – Lauren McCulloch, Male – Ali Hay
  • Whitelam Quaich for Endurance – commitment:
    David Lindsay
  • Whitelam Quaich for Endurance – excellence:
    Andy Butchart
  • David Hay Trophy for ultra-distance:
    Michael Wright
  • Jimmy Millar King of the Track:
    David Cumming

Congratulation to them and to all the award winners on the night.

© 2021 Central Athletic Club Webreturn